Entrevista: Alex Calder


459045_123244987837159_1288622422_o

Captured Tracks ha resultado ser un ojo infalible para músicos joya. De entre sus filas cabe mencionar a piezas únicas como: Beach Fossils, Craft Spells, DIIV, Heavenly Beat, Mac DeMarco (bebé <3) y Wild Nothing. Fue así como el diez de diciembre Captured Tracks nos volvió a presentar un artista promesa que estaría con ellos de ahora en adelante, un joven de 23 años (ya casi 24) que se crió en las calles de Montreal: Alex Calder.

Fue así que nos dimos a la tarea de realizar ocho preguntas sencillas y ponernos en contacto con este canadiense que llegó para quedarse con su single Suki and Me. Bastante accesible y sencillo, Alex contestó a nuestras preguntas y ahora sabemos un poco más de él. Cosas simples como sus influencias, cómo se siente al estar en Captured Tracks y  sus planes a futuro.

Aquí la entrevista :):

11183_JKT

Who are you?

Alex Calder

How/why did you started making music?

I started making music a long time ago, but only started taking it seriously in the last few years.

You’re with one of our favorites music labels (Captured Tracks), how does it feel to be in the same label that bands with such a great stature like Wild Nothing, DIIV, Mac DeMarco, etc?

It feels great, it feels cool. I’m honored.

What do you like to do when you’re not making music?

I like to do a lot things. I like to eat, I like to chill out with my girlfriend. I like to watch movies, listen to music, I like to play games (board games or video games), I like to drink beer, I like to travel, I like the internet, I like sleeping. (In that order)

Who is Suki?

Suki is my childhood pet cat. Suki and Me is about being a kid growing up with your cat. Suki lived to be 19. RIP.

Wich are the influences for your sweet guitars and soft voice?

I never really think about guitar players but when I was like 16 it was all Jimi hendrix and Stevie Ray Vaughan and shit. I do have a lot of musical influences. I love Paul McCartney, Prince, George Harrison, etc.

Stereolab is one of my favorite bands. Recent influences for sure include Michael Mcdonald and Steely Dan.  Michael Mcdonald has such an amazing voice and some really good hit songs!

Any Montreal music recommendation?

Yes! Freelove Fenner and Each Other. Two of my favorite bands from anywhere. Check them out!

What are your plans for the next months? any more music, videos, live shows?

Not a crazy amount of plans. Working on lots of music.  EP comes out in March and maybe some vidz too. Planning some live shows in the new year and maybe a tour!

Un pensamiento en “Entrevista: Alex Calder

Responder

